The penalties associated with drunk driving charges in New Jersey can be crushing for accused drivers. If you are facing DWI charges, you should know about the potential penalties and consequences and what you can do to challenge the charges you are facing through DWI defense options.
New Jersey drunk driving penalties
After you have been pulled over, arrested and charged with a DWI, there is a long list of potential penalties and consequences you are facing. To begin with, the possible penalties for a drunk driving charge are broken down by first, second and third offense. Those penalties range from fines from $250 to $1,000 to jail time ranging from 30 to 180 days.
In addition to possible jail time and fines, you can face the loss of your driver’s license for 3 months to up to an 8-year suspension of your driving privileges. Ignition interlock requirements may also be placed on accused drivers. There are several additional surcharges and fees that may also be tacked on before everything is said and done. You may also have to complete alcohol education requirements.
The fallout from being pulled over for drunk driving can be overwhelming. As part of building your DWI defense, it is important to know that there are options to challenge the charges and potential penalties at different phases of the process. It is essential for accused drivers to know how they can develop a strong criminal defense to potentially mitigate the damaging consequences of DWI charges.