Drinking and driving is something that the state of New Jersey takes very seriously. They have created strict laws to punish people who do and also try and prevent others from doing the same thing. So, if a person is convicted of a DWI, they may face some serious consequences.
Some of the consequences are more criminal in nature. Depending on the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and how many previous DUIs they have had, the punishment can include fines, an intoxicated driving program, community service and jail time.
DWI convictions can also affect people’s ability to drive. A driver’s license suspension and ignition interlock device can also result from a DWI conviction. Like the penalties listed above, the length of the driver’s license suspension and the amount of time they need to have the ignition interlock device in their vehicle depends on the BAC and number of previous DWIs.
For a first-time DWI, the suspensions are as follows:
- If the BAC is between 0.08% and 0.10%: Three months
- BAC above 0.10%: Seven months to one year
- BAC above 0.15%: In addition to the suspension of seven months to one year, an additional six months to one year of ignition interlock after the suspension
For a second time DWI within 10 years of the first offense, the suspensions are as follows:
- Two years suspension
- One to three years with the ignition interlock device after the suspension ends
For a third DWI within 10 years of the second offense, the suspensions are:
- Ten-year suspension
- One to three years with ignition interlock after suspension
All potential penalties for DWI convictions are serious in New Jersey, but the license suspensions can sometimes be the worst one. The suspensions can be long and with how much people rely on their vehicles, the suspensions can have a major impact on their lives. These penalties result when people are convicted. However, being charged with a crime does not mean that people will be convicted. People are innocent until proven guilty and may have an effective defense.